Reno Rodeo

Howdy Y’all!

Monday morning I left my great weekend vacation from Wine Country and headed back to good ole’ Reno. Okay, I’ll stop with the country slang, but I can’t help it considering the events takblue_roans2_2014_fcing place this week at the..…drumroll please…..the 2015 Reno Rodeo. Every summer the Reno Rodeo fills the stands of the Reno-Sparks Livestock Event Center with loyal fans or new guests. Specifically, this event takes place annually in the midst of June, lasting nearly a week-and-a-half of fun, excitement, and competition.

Ricks’ Tip #2: Step out of your comfort zone by trying something new like going to an event in your city that you do not normally attend. Now, to burst everyone’s bubble…I never actually been to the Reno Rodeo. Last year, June 2014, I sort of attended by entering into the fairgrounds and using my brand-spanking-new 21-year-old ID and entered the Jack Daniels’ Tent, but I didn’t actually watch the Rodeo events. I know I know, four year of living in Reno and I have still yet to experience the competition, shame on me right? Well this year I am changing that. I will be attending the 96th Annual Reno Rodeo and hopefully going more than once.

The only issue I was having was figuring out:

  • What were the exact dates?
  • What is the first thing I should do?
  • Which day do I go on?
  • How much is it?
  • Which event is the best to attend?
  • What delicious carnival food will they have?

Which I believe are ALL valid questions (especially the one regarding food)

As I searched the Internet I came across a 96th Annual Rodeo informational website and a blog from Visit Reno Tahoe listing out a few things to do at the Reno Rodeo. These two sites answered all my questions that I had mentioned above. I am proud of myself for going to an event that allows me to step out of my comfort zone. Also, I am excited to see which day I end up going and the events that will be watching.

I want you, to look into events that your city is hosting this summer! Attend it and comment below on how your experience was.

‘Till Later!

Rickie

Photo By

About Rickie Ritchie

Rickie Ritchie is a 21-year-old from Las Vegas, Nevada, but resides in Reno, Nevada. She is currently pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration with a dual major in Marketing and Management at the University of Nevada, Reno. Currently, she is in her final course of her undergraduate career and expecting to graduate July 2015.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

