Freshly Pressed Juice: Ultimate Summer Cool Down

Path at Rancho San Rafael ParkI woke up yesterday morning and decided I should go for a run. I do weight training throughout the week at the University’s athletic center, but I usually skip out on cardio. I just wish I was one of those individuals that enjoys to run. I headed to Rancho San Rafael Park around 11am since it was not scorching hot yet. It was around 75 degrees, which is pretty nice compared to the 85 degrees it was suppose to reach only an hour later and the 92 degrees later in the afternoon. After jogging along the trails of the park for a mile-and-a-half it occurred to me I needed a nice summer drink to cool me down.

When I was younger a nice cool summer drink would be a smoothie from the nearest smoothie shop, a slushie from Sonic, or a Slurpee from 711. Drinks that are filled with tons and tons of terrible sugars. As I get older I now know the importance of what foods and drinks we put into our bodies. So I decided to make my way to jüs.

Ricks’ Tip #5: Put down the sugary/syrupy drinks and pick something healthier like a freshly pressed juice from your local juicery this summer.

I always like to support local businesses especially jüs. In fact, jüs is owned and managed by two of my good friends. Additionally, many of a my closest friends work there as employees. They have two locations in Reno: Damonte Ranch and Midtown. You may be thinking all they have is freshly pressed jüs, but that is not the case at all. The menu there is extensive including items such as: premium jüses, jüs cleanses, smoothies, add ons, nut milks, oatmeal, parfaits, acai bowls, and finally shots of wheatgrass, jalapeño, and ginger. Depending on my mood I alternate between getting a jüs or an acai bowl.

Yesterday, I thought it would be more suitable to get a jüs after my run. I decided to get a drink called Vigor (without the carrot, adding an apple, and adding greens: spinach and kale). Talk about a complicated order, jüsI keep telling them they need to add it the menu as the Rickie Ritchie (we’ll see if I ever make it). This is the perfect drink because it is the right amount of sweetness although it may not look like it in the picture. The best part of this particular drink is the fact that it is has the right amount of sweetness, but still has a good serving of vegetables in it. Juicing has been around for a long time, but the popularity of it is growing at a rapid pace over the past few years. For example, in Las Vegas (where I am from) there are tons of juiceries emerging around the city. They are popping up on all corners like Starbucks.

Not only does juice taste good and cools you down, it is healthy for you! Especially with being in the summer months I know a lot of people are conscious with their health and appearance. Here are two links that explain the benefits to drinking freshly pressed juices: Why Juice? and Juicing Benefits: 7 Reasons Why Fresh Juice is the Healthier Option.

If you already drink freshly pressed juices comment below on what your favorite combination is. If not, I want you to find a juicery near you and comment about your experience.

‘Till Later

Rickie

About Rickie Ritchie

Rickie Ritchie is a 21-year-old from Las Vegas, Nevada, but resides in Reno, Nevada. She is currently pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration with a dual major in Marketing and Management at the University of Nevada, Reno. Currently, she is in her final course of her undergraduate career and expecting to graduate July 2015.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

