Summer Internship

The past four years attending the University of Nevada, Reno I was not a normal college student, I was collegiate cheerleader. I have been a part of the Nevada Cheerleading program for four years Rickie cheering and holding up a signand I could not have imagined my college career without it. Being on the team has given me so many memories that I’ll forever cherish. Something I will take away from our program is to always strive to help others. The program is community-based compared to many other universities who are competition-based.

Having a great connection with our community has brought us many opportunities to focus and engage in community service. With that being said, as a Nevada cheerleader we were able and fortunate enough to be invited to attend all fundraiser events for Nevada Athletics and many other events hosted within the community. My favorite events were the events hosted by Nevada Athletics: Blue Tie Ball, Suits and Sneakers, Governor’s Dinner, Football 101, Bobby Dolan Baseball Dinner, and much more.

Many of you may be thinking what does this have to do with summer Rickie? Well let me tell you, since my cheerleading career (of 9 years) came to end this past May it was time to do something new. What screams summer for a college student? INTERNSHIP! After being apart of the cheer program and being able to attend all these special events I have gained an interest in making a career out of event planning. As of right now I am spending my summer interning for Nevada Athletics.

Ricks’ Tip #6: If you are in high school or college student find an internship in a field that you are passionate about.

Rickie, Governor Sandoval, Amanda

2014 Governor’s Dinner

I am an intern for the Director of Special Events for Nevada Athletics. The big summer event that I will be assisting with is the 47th Annual Governor’s Dinner. Guests enjoy refreshing beverages, a delicious dinner, and are able to win top notch prizes by entering raffles and participating in a live auction. Most importantly, guests get to witness a Q&A session with an athletic keynote speaker/guest all while at the Governor’s Mansion. I am so excited to be able to help coordinate this event and learn the ins and outs of event planning.

If you are interested in seeing a blog post about how the event turned out comment below.

‘Till Later

Rickie

 

About Rickie Ritchie

Rickie Ritchie is a 21-year-old from Las Vegas, Nevada, but resides in Reno, Nevada. She is currently pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration with a dual major in Marketing and Management at the University of Nevada, Reno. Currently, she is in her final course of her undergraduate career and expecting to graduate July 2015.
Video | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer Internship

  1. Pingback: Wait it’s Fall? | Splendid Seasons

Leave a Reply

