Summer Hiking

This past Father’s Day I was not back home in Vegas to spend it with my dad. Even if I was there he was working all day so he was unable to celebrate it anyway. So while I was here in Reno I thought to myself “what would dad want to do today?”Dad Hiking Narrows That was a pretty simple question to answer. The answer is hike. We always hiked throughout my childhood and still do. My dad is an adventurous guy and likes to try new things all the time. He loves to fly fish, hike, camp, road bike, read books, practice yoga, watch sports (Specifically the Dodgers), and stay up-to-date with the latest Apple technology. He recently went on a camping trip to Zion National Park, the image to the left is him hiking through the Narrows. He is such an independent person and free spirit. I believe he is reason I like to stray away from the norm and try to do new things. Backtracking to the Father’s Day subject, I unfortunately had to work on the holiday too but the fact that hiking has been on my mind all week meant I had to go.

MapRicks’ Tip #8: Get up early one morning and go on a hike. It is a great form of exercise. This morning I woke up early and decided to hike the “N” starting at the Reno Sports Complex, which is 5 minutes away from where I live. You would be surprised how many places there are in Reno you can go to for a easy or moderate hike. In fact, even walking along steady trails can be found right in your own backyard. There are many different paths and trails at the Reno Sports Complex. I started going through the Nature Trail leading toward Evans Canyon Loop. Following the loop I veered off onto a narrow, steep trail to the “N.” After making it to the top I looked at my iPod Nano (that was tracking my time and distance with Nike+) and it had only taken me 24 minutes. Normally when I hike I like to enjoy my final destination, so I relaxed for about 15 minutes. I started to feel the sun beaming down which was my cue to start heading back down the mountain. I continued on a Trail to the Ndifferent part Evans Canyon Loop, eventually leading me back to the Nature Trail. I like to hike, but I am not too crazy into hiking yet like my dad. I do not have fancy gear or have a lot of knowledge about trails, but that does not mean I can’t do it. I really like it because I love the way I feel after being outdoors and getting some exercise.

I want you to check out this website explaining why hiking makes you happier and healthier.

‘Till Later

Rickie

About Rickie Ritchie

Rickie Ritchie is a 21-year-old from Las Vegas, Nevada, but resides in Reno, Nevada. She is currently pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration with a dual major in Marketing and Management at the University of Nevada, Reno. Currently, she is in her final course of her undergraduate career and expecting to graduate July 2015.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

