Sweet Summertime Treat

Whenever the weather is extremely hot I always crave an ice cold treat. Recently the weather in Reno has been in the mid 90’s even reaching to the triple digits. With that being said I am always trying to find different ways to cool down whether it means go to the pool, go to tahoe, stay-inside-my-nice-air-conditioned-apartment-while-watching-Netflix, or eat refreshing dishes/snacks. I notice whenever I go out to eat or grab a cup of coffee the season really depicts what I am going to choose. For example, when I go to Yard House my palette craves different dishes depending on the season we are in. The summer dish I like is the Summer Salad, which is made of romaine lettuce, strawberries, avocado, oranges, candied walnuts, and leeks. For a winter dish, I would order Grilled Cheese & Tomato Bisque, which is made from roasted tomato, cheddar, gorgonzola, swiss, fontina, and artisan bread. This is just an example of how we eat different things depending on the season even if we do not realize it. Normally, when I think a summertime snack I think of something frozen.

IngredientsRicks’ Tip #9: If you feel like you’re overheating from the hot weather lookup online recipes for treats that will cool you down, specifically recipes that call for ingredients that you already have in your pantry. Like I mentioned earlier with the weather reaching the 100’s in Reno I have been dying for something to cool me down. I came across a Buzzfeed article called “21 Summer Breakfasts That Don’t Require A Stove” and I knew I was going to find a recipe I would want to try. As I scrolled down the list Yogurt Granola Banana Pops stood out to me because they sounded delicious and easy to make. As I looked further into the recipe I realized I had everything I need 2 bananas, 4 wooden sticks, 1 carton (6-ounces of fat-free yogurt), and granola mix with dried fruit. Click here to find the full recipe including the instructions. Preparation time was about 7 minutes. After assembling the Yogurt Granola Banana Pops, I set them in the freezer where they will freeze for two hours.

Granola Yogurt Banana PopsI was not sure that this dish would fill me up for breakfast, but I definitely think it is a nice for snack, especially after the gym today. I could eat this frozen treat to cool down and not feel guilty about myself like I would if I were eating a sugary/syrupy popsicle, Otter Pop, or ice cream.

I want you to tell me your favorite homemade summertime snack.

‘Till Later

Rickie

About Rickie Ritchie

Rickie Ritchie is a 21-year-old from Las Vegas, Nevada, but resides in Reno, Nevada. She is currently pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration with a dual major in Marketing and Management at the University of Nevada, Reno. Currently, she is in her final course of her undergraduate career and expecting to graduate July 2015.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

