Happy Fourth of July!

July is here, another summer month. When I think of July I think of one day the Fourth of July. Here in the Reno-Tahoe area there are so many different activities to do for the holiday, specifically the whole weekend. Click here to see the many activities people can choose from that are in my area. I did not have anything too special planned I had more of the go-with-the-flow mentality until…I found out my best friend, Danika, was visiting from Las Vegas. She decided to surprise me as a birthday present considering she wasn’t able to hangout with me on my actual birthday (June 22 for those of you that don’t know) because it was the first time I was not in Vegas for my birthday.

Danika has visited me here in Reno once, but has never been to Lake Tahoe. IMG_3368We decided to have a little group of us come together to go to Tahoe for the holiday. If any of you are from the Reno-Tahoe area you are probably thinking to yourselves that it probably was not the smartest idea due to the fact that the weather forecast described the entire day to be rainy and full of thunderstorms. We decided to still go for it because like I mentioned she has never been to Lake Tahoe! We headed to Sand Harbor and the weather wasn’t too bad, until we hit a good 10 minutes of pouring rain and heavy fog while driving. We were all thinking the same thing, but no one said it. We were all thinking this probably wasn’t the best idea.

Ricks’ Tip #11: Just Do It! Everybody that didn’t have canopies or umbrellas looked at us funny when we arrived as they were packing up their belongings to head home. Sand HarborWe walked to the beach while it was still sprinkling. By the time we found a secluded area and put our stuff down, the rain had completely stopped and continued to stay dry for the rest of the time we were there. We spent around 5 hours there relaxing, snacking, getting into the freezing cold water, and climbing the boulders. The day turned out to be a success and we were all glad we took the risk to drive down to Tahoe. I was happy Danika was able to see how beautiful Tahoe is, although it was not the ideal, sunny destination it normally is. We then made our trek home stopping at Raley’s to pick up some steaks to grill. What is more American than that?

I want you to comment below and tell me what you did for the Fourth of July!

‘Till Later

Rickie

About Rickie Ritchie

Rickie Ritchie is a 21-year-old from Las Vegas, Nevada, but resides in Reno, Nevada. She is currently pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration with a dual major in Marketing and Management at the University of Nevada, Reno. Currently, she is in her final course of her undergraduate career and expecting to graduate July 2015.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

