Biggest Little City Wing Fest

Wing FestThis past Fourth of July weekend there was a special event in Downtown Reno known as the Silver Legacy’s Biggest Little City Wing Fest. In my opinion, this event is the second best food festival in Reno, following the Nugget Rib Cook-Off. The foot traffic the wing fest brought was astonishing with around 65,000 attendees and serving up to 20,000 pounds of wings. Unfortunately this year I was unable to attend. Here is why…Friday was a very hectic day for me I was all around Reno running errands and working. Saturday we were at the lake celebrating the Fourth of July, but Sunday was the day! I worked that morning, but my best friend and I had our hearts set on going after I got off, since it was the last day for the event. We decided to head downtown and get us some tasty wings, until we found out we were too late. Sunday had shorter hours than previous two days.

Ricks’ Tip #12: There are so many fun things to do during the Fourth of July weekend in your city, so make a game plan. I was mad at myself for not finding time to fit it into my schedule this weekend. We were both pretty bummed out because we were looking forward to getting some tasty wings. IMG_3466The dynamic duo loves their food…so I wasn’t going to let my craving for good wings not get fulfilled. Instead of wing fest, we headed to one of my favorite place to get wings Noble Pie. In fact, Noble Pie’s booth probably would have been the booth I would have gotten my wings from if we actually made it to the fest. Together we ordered a half pound of wings, a slice of pepperoni pizza, and garlic fries. Not the healthiest summer meal, but it sure was delicious. The wings were my favorite part of the meal. They are covered with a tangy hot sauce, parmesan cheese, scallions, and minced garlic. I’m not sure if I have mentioned this before but I am a sucker for garlic. Needless to say, going to Noble Pie was better than making it to the wing fest.

I want you to comment below and tell me what your favorite food festival is in your town.

‘Till Later

Rickie

Photo By

About Rickie Ritchie

Rickie Ritchie is a 21-year-old from Las Vegas, Nevada, but resides in Reno, Nevada. She is currently pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration with a dual major in Marketing and Management at the University of Nevada, Reno. Currently, she is in her final course of her undergraduate career and expecting to graduate July 2015.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Biggest Little City Wing Fest

  1. Great post Rickie! I lived here for 5 years and never heard about the wing fest before. Sad because I LOVE myself some good wings. One of my favorite food festivals is the Nugget Rib Cookoff, you cant go wrong with some Bone Daddy ribs and a serving of mac and cheese. I look forward to trying Noble Pie’s wings. Thanks

    Like

  2. I am not positive, but I think this year was the 3rd of 4th year of the event! Next year you should definitely try it out. It is just like the Rib Cookoff except chicken wings 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

